The powerful loosehead prop, who made his debut as a 19-year-old against the Chiefs in Hamilton in 2011, will lead the DHL Stormers out at Tafel Lager Park for a match that kicks off at 16h30 on Saturday.

There are three changes to the forward pack and two in the backline for the DHL Stormers’ first-ever match against the Tafel Lager Griquas.

Neethling Fouche (tighthead prop), David Meihuizen (lock) and Marcel Theunissen (flanker) come into the starting line-up, while Blitzbok speedster Angelo Davids (wing) will make his DHL Stormers debut and Paul de Wet steps in for Herschel Jantjies at scrumhalf, who misses the match on compassionate grounds.

Angelo Davids in action for the Blitzboks

Angelo Davids in action for the Blitzboks

There are two Springboks in the form of Scarra Ntubeni (hooker) and Frans Malherbe (prop) on an extended bench, which also features a fit-again Ruhan Nel.

DHL Stormers head coach John Dobson paid tribute to Kitshoff who has been a stalwart for the DHL Stormers over the years.

“Steven is the ultimate professional and it is wonderful that he joins his old friends Siya Kolisi and Frans Malherbe as DHL Stormers centurions," said Dobson.

“We know that playing in Kimberley is always a big test and our team is determined to put together a convincing performance up there."

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Edwill van der Merwe, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 David Meihuizen, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain). Replacements (from): 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Sazi Sandi, 20 Salmaan Moerat, 21 Chris van Zyl, 22 Ben-Jason Dixon, 23 Godlen Masimla, 24 Tim Swiel, 25 Michal Hazner, 26 Ruhan Nel.

Match information – Tafel Lager Griquas vs DHL Stormers
Date: Saturday, 7 November
Time: 16h30
Venue: Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs, Griffin Colby
Television Match Official: Aimee Barrett-Theron
TV: SuperSport Rugby and Grandstand