Kick-off at Loftus Versfeld is at 16h00 and the match will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

The larger squad is mainly due to the fact that the Vodacom Bulls are still awaiting a few COVID-19 test results. The final match day squad will be trimmed and finalised as soon as possible.

Springbok prop Lizo Gqoboka is back in the mix after not playing at all since the season resumed due to injury.

Also back from injury is Elrigh Louw (flank), while former SA Schools wing Stravino Jacobs and Blitzbok forward Tim Agaba (flanker) have also been included in the extended squad.

“It’s been an interesting and challenging season to say the least, with the past two weeks probably being our most testing yet,” said White.

“We haven’t had a lot of time together following the isolation protocols, which doesn’t make it ideal going into a crunch game like this one.

“Having said that, we’re just excited to be able to play again and get our campaign back on track.”

The Vodacom Bulls’ last game was almost a month ago, on 12 December, when they lost to the Cell C Sharks by 32-29 in Durban. Since then, their clash with Tafel Lager Griquas was cancelled and this encounter, against their Gauteng neighbours, was postponed until Wednesday.

The men from Pretoria have a big week ahead, as they will face the Phakisa Pumas in Nelspruit on Sunday in their second outing of the week and their final pool match.

Vodacom Bulls squad: Lizo Gqoboka, Schalk Erasmus, Trevor Nyakane, Jan Uys, Ruan Nortje, Marco van Staden, Elrigh Louw, Duane Vermeulen, Embrose Papier, Chris Smith, Stravino Jacobs, Cornal Hendricks, Marnus Potgieter, Jay-Cee Nel, David Kriel, Johan Grobbelaar, Jacques van Rooyen, Marcel van der Merwe, Walt Steenkamp, Arno Botha, Tim Agaba, Ivan van Zyl, Morne Steyn, Keagan Johannes, David Kellerman, Jade Stighling, Jan-Hendrik Wessels, Joe van Zyl.

Match information – Vodacom Bulls v Xerox Lions
Date: Wednesday, 6 January 2021
Time: 16h00
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni
Assistant Referees: Paul Mente and Morne Ferreira
TMO: Marius van der Westhuizen
TV: SuperSport Rugby