The result ensured that they remained the only South African side to remain unbeaten in the competition so far as they battled torrential rain as much as their Welsh opponents.

The first half was a tight tussle with neither team able to gain real dominance with the only points in the first half coming compliments of penalty goals by DHL Stormers’ Manie Libbok, who kicked two to only one by the Ospreys, which handed the Cape side a handy 6-3 half-time lead.

The second half proved to be a ding-dong battle with each team scoring a try through DHL Stormers scrumhalf Paul de Wet and Ospreys replacement hooker Scott Baldwin to add to additional penalty goals by Libbok and Myler.

The first half proved to be a tough grind with both teams throwing everything at one another, but it was DHL Stormers’ flyhalf Manie Libbok who got the upper hand for his team as he kicked two penalty goals in the 12th and 30th minutes respectively to take a 6-0 lead in the match.

Ospreys struck back five minutes before halftime with Stephen Myler (flyhalf) kicking a penalty goal for the hosts, which reduced their deficit to three points going into the break.

The Capetonians continued to apply pressure on attack in the second stanza, but their early attempts again proved unsuccessful, which did not assist their cause.

Myler added his second penalty goal in the 50th minute to level the scores at 6-6 and it was a case of game on for both sides with 30 minutes left to play.

The defending VRUC Cape Champions, however, fought back with intent in the 52nd minute with de Wet scoring from a great pass in space and Libbok added the conversion to stretch their lead to 13-6.

Myler reduced the hosts’ lead to four points in the 68th minute with his third penalty goal of the match and it was game on as the match proceeded.

Libbok responded with his third three-pointer minutes later to hand his team a 16-9 lead with eight minutes left on the clock.

Ospreys, however, refused to give up and scored an invaluable try by replacement hooker Scott Baldwin from a strong rolling maul in the 76th minute and the successful conversion by Myler leveled the scores at 16-16 with under four minutes to play.


Ospreys 16 (3) - Try:Scott Baldwin. Conversion: Stephen Myler. Penalty goals: Myler (3).

DHL Stormers 16 (6) – Try: Paul de Wet. Conversion: Manie Libbok. Penalty goals: Libbok (3).