Only four of the players who started against France on Tuesday, have been included in the starting team this weekend – wings Scott Nel and Cheswill Jooste, loose forward Batho Hlekani – who moves from No 8 to flanker – and lock Jacobus Grobbelaar.

Lynch was also forced to call up Kyle Smith, who takes over from the flyhalf duties from his injured SA Scools team-mate Ian van der Merwe. Ranon Fouche (prop), who was injured against France, was not replaced in the squad.

The two players who were part of the SA U18 Sevens squad at the Commonwealth Youth Games earlier this month, Gino Cupido (centre) and Marno Stopforth (flanker), have both been named in the starting team.

“Our plan from the outset was to give all the players in the squad enough game time as we need to see who can make the step up, hence all the rotational changes to the squad,” said Lynch.

“Many of the players who were on the bench against France and who helped the team lift the intensity in the second half of that game, will now start and it’s a great opportunity for everyone to test themselves for a second time against a quality international side. I have no doubt we will be better on Saturday.”

Lynch is under no illusions about the enormity of the task that awaits his charges at Paarl Boys’ High on Saturday – England beat France by 41-0 last week and on Tuesday, they won 78-15 against the Western Province XV.

“Obviously we have to start much better this time around as we are facing a very well-coached side who play with speed and momentum,” said the coach.

“We have to try and control that and stop their momentum, but we will also be looking for better synergy between our forwards and backs.”

The kick-off time of the match against England has been moved to 15h30 and the game will be broadcast on the SuperSport Schools app, as well as on channel 216 on DSTV. The match between France and the Western Province XV is scheduled for 13h00.

SA U18 team to face England in Paarl:
15 JC Mars (vice-captain)
14 Scott Nel
13 Gino Cupido
12 Janco Purchase
11 Cheswill Jooste
10 Kyle Smith
9 Haashim Pead

8 JJ Theron (captain)
7 Batho Hlekani
6 Marno Stopforth
5 Riley Norton
4 Jacobus Grobbelaar
3 Jean Erasmus
2 Siphosethu Mnebelele
1 Lithemba Mfupi

16 Imaani Pemba
17 Phiwayinkosi Kubeka
18 Simphiwe Ngobese
19 Ulrich van der Westhuizen
20 Xola Nyali
21 Christiaan van der Westhuizen
22 Dominic Malgas
23 Jameel de Jongh
24 Luyanda Kunene
25 Thando Biyela