The World Rugby Under 20 Championship (known as the IRB Junior World Championship until 2014) is an international rugby union competition. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, World Rugby, and is contested by 12 men's junior national teams with an under-20 age requirement. This event replaced the IRB's former age-grade world championships, the Under 19 and Under 21 World Championships. The Junior Springboks won the tournament in 2012, when it was hosted in South Africa.

The history

The inaugural tournament was held in June 2008, hosted by Wales and with 16 teams participating. Wales was announced as host for the inaugural tournament in November 2007. The number of participating nations was reduced to 12 before the 2010 tournament due to financial reasons.

The U20 Championship is the upper level of the World Rugby tournament structure for national U20 sides. At the same time that the U20 Championship was launched, World Rugby (then known as the International Rugby Board) also launched a second-level competition, the U20 Trophy, featuring eight teams.

There are currently no fixtures available.


22 Jun |Club Old Resian, Rosario

Italy U20

29 - 17

Georgia U20

22 Jun |Racecourse Stadium, Rosario

France U20

24 - 23

Australia U20

22 Jun |Club Old Resian, Rosario

Ireland U20

17 - 40

New Zealand U20