South Africa's oldest and premier provincial competition, which was contested from October 2020 to January 2021 during a season disrupted by COVID-19, ended in joy for the Vodacom Bulls as they won the title for the first time since 2009, beating the Durban-based Cell C Sharks in a dramatic and nail-biting home final in Pretoria. The other teams in the competition were 2019 champions, the Toyota Cheetahs (from Bloemfontein), as well as DHL Western Province (Cape Town), Xerox Lions (Johannesburg), Phakisa Pumas (Nelspruit) and Tafel Lager Griquas (Kimberley).

The history

The Currie Cup is one of the oldest rugby competitions in the world, with the first games played in 1889, but it was only in 1892 that it became officially known as the Currie Cup. The original participating unions were Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province. The first tournament was held in Kimberley and was won by Western Province. The Currie Cup trophy was donated to South Africa in 1891 by the touring British Isles team - it was given to the tourists by Sir Donald Currie, owner of Union-Castle Lines, the shipping company that transported them to the southern tip of Africa. Sir Donald was clear with his instructions – hand this trophy over to the team in South Africa that gives you the best game. After a spirited display where the unbeaten British Lions narrowly won 3-0, Griqualand West became the first ever holders of the Currie Cup.

Carling Currie Cup 2020_2021 table
Vodacom Bulls
12 8 3 1 305 216 89 32 22 39
DHL Western Province
12 7 3 2 272 216 56 32 21 37
Cell C Sharks
12 7 3 2 274 244 30 31 26 35
Xerox Lions
12 6 4 2 275 221 54 29 20 34
Toyota Cheetahs
12 6 5 1 285 275 10 30 28 31
New Nation Pumas
12 3 8 1 265 351 -86 34 48 17
Tafel Lager Griquas
12 0 11 1 211 364 -153 24 47 8

There are currently no fixtures available.


30 Jan|Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Vodacom Bulls

26 - 19

Cell C Sharks

23 Jan|DHL Newlands, Cape Town

DHL Western Province

9 - 19

Cell C Sharks

23 Jan|Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Vodacom Bulls

26 - 21

Xerox Lions


Tournament news

Dual tournament approach to Rainbow Cup announced

PRO14 Rugby and SA Rugby will operate dual Rainbow Cup tournaments with no cross-hemisphere fixtures in the absence of formal approvals in place to allow the South African teams to enter the UK & Ireland it was announced on Wednesday.

Match report

FNB Varsity Shield: CPUT move clear at the top

The Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) scored eight tries in an impressive 54-20 win over Tshwane University of Technology (TUT Vikings) at Loftus Versfeld on Tuesday, while there were also fourth round victories for the University of Fort Hare (UFH Blues) and the University of Kwazulu-Natal (UKZN Impi).

Team news

Vodacom Bulls boost their player ranks

The Vodacom Bulls have bolstered their playing ranks in the build-up to the PRO14 Rainbow Cup and for the rest of the season with the addition of a number of experienced and exciting players to their roster, the biggest of which is the signing of Springbok utility back Johan Goosen from French club Montpellier.

Tournament news

FNB Varsity Shield: Three sides still unbeaten

Three teams continued on their winning ways on Sunday in round three of the FNB Varsity Shield, with Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT), Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) and Walter Sisulu University (WSU) scoring solid wins at Tuks Stadium in Pretoria.

Team news

Springbok strongman Kitshoff to lead DHL Stormers

Experienced Springbok prop Steven Kitshoff will lead the DHL Stormers in the forthcoming PRO14 Rainbow Cup after signing a three-year contract extension with Western Province to continue his career with the Cape Town-based franchise.