The World Rugby U20 Championship (known as the IRB Junior World Championship until 2014) is an international competition between the 12 best Under-20 men's sides on the planet, and is organised by the sport's governing body, World Rugby. This event, which replaced the IRB's former age-grade world championships, the U19 and U21 World Championships, return in 2023 after it was last played in 2019 before the pandemic. The 2023 and 2024 Championships will be hosted in South Africa.

The history

The inaugural tournament was held in June 2008, hosted by Wales and with 16 teams participating. The number of participating nations was reduced to 12 before the 2010 tournament due to financial reasons. The U20 Championship is the upper level of the World Rugby tournament structure for national Under-20 sides - a second-tier competition, the U20 Trophy, features eight teams. The Junior Springboks won the title in 2012, when the tournament was hosted in South Africa. New Zealand (6), England (3) and France (2) are the other previous winners of the title.

There are currently no fixtures available.


14 Jul|Athlone Stadium, Cape Town

Ireland U20

14 - 50

France U20

14 Jul|Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch

Georgia U20

26 - 50

New Zealand U20

14 Jul|Athlone Stadium, Cape Town

Junior Springboks

22 - 15

England U20