The Toyota Cheetahs dethroned the Airlink Pumas - the 2022 champions from Mbombela - by winning South Africa's oldest and premier provincial competition in 2023, winning a superb final at home in Bloemfontein. The Pretoria-based Vodacom Bulls won the title in 2020 and 2021, but lost in the semi-finals in 2022 and 2023. These four sides were joined in the Premier Division by the Hollywoodbets Sharks (Durban), DHL Western Province (Cape Town), Fidelity ADT Lions (Johannesburg) and the Novavit Griffons (Welkom), who were promoted after winning the First Division in 2022.

The history

The Currie Cup is one of the oldest rugby competitions in the world, with the first games played in 1889, but it was only in 1892 that it became officially known as the Currie Cup. The original participating unions were Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province. The first tournament was held in Kimberley and was won by Western Province. The Currie Cup trophy was donated to South Africa in 1891 by the touring British Isles team - it was given to the tourists by Sir Donald Currie, owner of Union-Castle Lines, the shipping company that transported them to the southern tip of Africa. Sir Donald was clear with his instructions – hand this trophy over to the team in South Africa that gives you the best game. After a spirited display where the unbeaten British Lions narrowly won 3-0, Griqualand West became the first ever holders of the Currie Cup.

Currie Cup Premier Division 2023 table
Toyota Cheetahs
14 9 4 1 439 324 115 63 39 51
Hollywoodbets Sharks
14 10 4 0 370 310 60 50 37 48
Airlink Pumas
14 8 6 0 436 292 144 58 38 40
Vodacom Bulls
14 7 7 0 399 415 -16 57 53 38
DHL Western Province
14 7 7 0 377 335 42 49 47 37
Fidelity ADT Lions
14 6 8 0 386 390 -4 52 51 36
Suzuki Griquas
14 7 6 1 364 399 -35 45 53 35
NovaVit Griffons
14 1 13 0 288 594 -306 33 89 10

There are currently no fixtures available.


24 Jun|Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein

Toyota Cheetahs

25 - 17

Airlink Pumas

17 Jun|Hollywoodbets Kings Park, Durban

Hollywoodbets Sharks

20 - 26

Airlink Pumas

17 Jun|Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein

Toyota Cheetahs

39 - 10

Vodacom Bulls

10 Jun|DHL Stadium, Cape Town

DHL Western Province

44 - 5

Hollywoodbets Sharks


Vodacom United Rugby Championship

Irish inconsistency helps South African challenge

Vodacom Bulls coach Jake White was unequivocal ahead of his team’s massive Vodacom United Rugby Championship derby against the DHL Stormers about the mission his men face – he wants them to finish in the top two and thus give themselves a good chance of hosting a final.

Vodacom United Rugby Championship

Pressure on in penultimate derby round in SA

All four South African teams will be feeling the pressure when they take the field on Saturday in the second Vodacom United Rugby Championship Origin Round as the competition for places in the quarter-final heats up with eight pool rounds remaining – while the SA Shield can be decided in Pretoria.

Vodacom United Rugby Championship

Stakes are high as Vodacom URC returns

The bye week in the Guinness Six Nations means the Vodacom United Rugby Championship will again take main focus this coming weekend and there are several high stakes games featuring teams with playoff aspirations.

Vodacom United Rugby Championship

DHL Stormers can clinch SA Shield in Pretoria

The four Vodacom United Rugby Championship regional competitions for the respective shields are being tightly fought, but the DHL Stormers can end the speculation on the South African front if they win the big North-South derby against the Vodacom Bulls in Pretoria next weekend.

Vodacom United Rugby Championship

Last gasp Ospreys win lifts SA’s challenge

There were some tight contests in the games that mattered to the fight for Vodacom United Rugby Championship log position during an absorbing tenth round of the competition, but none was more meaningful to the top two South African teams than the game that ended the round.