One of the three changes for the match, that will be broadcast live on SuperSport at 16h30, was enforced as Dan Kriel replaces the injured Burger Odendaal (calf) at inside centre.

The other two were rotational switches, with André Warner replacing Ross Cronje at scrumhalf, while the experienced Jannie du Plessis is back in the mix and takes over from Ruan Dreyer at tighthead prop, with the latter starting on the bench.

Jannie du Plessis in action earlier this year

Jannie du Plessis in action earlier this year

Manuel Rass has been named to fill the void left by Kriel amongst the replacements.

Van Rooyen's team features seven players who participated in the 2019 final - which the Toyota Cheetahs won 31-28 - four of whom started, namely Dylan Smith, Marvin Orie, Wandisile Simelane and Stean Pienaar.

Jan-Henning Campher, Wilhelm van der Sluys and Len Massyn, meanwhile, were all among the replacements. 

Xerox Lions: 15 Tiaan Swanepoel, 14 Stean Pienaar, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies (captain), 9 André Warner, 8 Len Massyn, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Willem Alberts, 4 Marvin Orie, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Sti Sithole. Replacements: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Reinhard Nothnagel, 20 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 21 Morne van den Berg, 22 Manuel Rass, 23 Roelof Smit.

Match information – Toyota Cheetahs v Xerox Lions
Date: Saturday, 12 December 2020
Time: 16h30
Venue: Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Referees: AJ Jacobs and Griffin Colby
TMO: Jaco Peyper
TV: SuperSport Rugby and Grandstand