BBCo Director of Rugby, Jake White, said that Nortje’s appointment is future-oriented.

“I think he (Ruan) is the future of the club," said White.

"He is still young, and he is surrounded by players who respect him as a player and has continually justified his selection as a player with what he offers us.

“It is great for us to have a player who makes it easier to select and I have every bit of confidence that he we thrive in his new role.”

Nortje will lead a strong team that also include the returning Nizaam Carr - one of six Springboks in the starting team - at openside flanker.

Props Simphiwe Matanzima and Mornay Smith, who played on the recent South Africa 'A' tour, are on the bench along with Cyle Brink, who is making a return from injury.

The match is scheduled to kick off at Loftus Versfeld at 15h00 on Saturday and will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Vodacom Bulls: 15 Wandisile Simelane, 14 David Kriel, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Stravino Jacobs, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Elrigh Louw, 7 WJ Steenkamp, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Ruan Nortje (captain), 4 Janko Swanepoel, 3 Francois Klopper, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp. Replacements: 16 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Ruan Vermaak, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Zak Burger, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Marco Jansen van Vuren.