Stade Rochelais retained the Heineken Champions Cup in dramatic fashion on Saturday as they recovered from 17 points down to beat Leinster by 27-26 in front of almost 52,000 fans at the AVIVA Stadium.

A day earlier, on Friday night, Toulon defeated the Glasgow Warriors by 43-19 to take the EPCR Challenge Cup title.

In the Heineken Champions Cup Final, Leinster looked on course for a record-equalling fifth crown when Dan Sheehan (2) and Jimmy O’Brien crossed for tries inside the first 15 minutes.

But they could only add three Ross Byrne penalty goals from that point as La Rochelle battled their way back into the contest in an incredible and gripping turnaround.

Jonathan Danty, UJ Seuteni and Georges Henri Colombe all went over for the French side, in addition to 12 points from the boot of Antoine Hastoy.

With their backs against the wall, Ronan O’Gara’s side piled on the pressure in the second half, with a try in the 71st minute by replacement prop Colombe stunning the Dublin crowd.

Toulon celebrate in Dublin on Friday night.

Toulon celebrate in Dublin on Friday night.

Hastoy converted to hand La Rochelle the lead, but in the final electrifying nine minutes, Leinster just could not land the winning blow.

As an added bonus, La Rochelle captain Grégory Alldritt scooped the 2023 EPCR Player of the Year award.

Toulon had it much easier on Friday night, beating the Vodacom United Rugby Championship's Glasgow Warriors by 43-19 in Dublin as they clinched the EPCR Challenge Cup for the first time in their history.

The French heavyweights, playing in the final of the competition for a fifth time, crossed six times in front of 31,514 fans at the AVIVA Stadium, through Baptiste Serin (2), Sergio Parisse, Jiuta Wainiqolo, Waisea Nayacalevu and Ihaia West.

Glasgow endured a difficult first half and although they improved after the break, scores from Kyle Steyn (2) and Sebastian Cancelliere came too little too late.

Springbok speedster Cheslin Kolbe was named Man of the Match afterwards.